Entrepreneurial Journal – Week 2 – Planning

This week included a plethora of activities and assignments. It first started off with our first book report of the semester being due and ended on a Harvard Manage Mentor assignment on the topic of innovation and creativity. From reading the book Rich Dad, Poor Dad to the remainder of our assignments, I was reminded of a quote that my Mission President shared with our mission that has stayed with me since. I had the opportunity of visiting with him this weekend at a mission reunion and that experience coupled with this week’s assignments reminded me of his wise words and counsel. The quote is this: “Prior proper planning positively prevents poor performance.” 

I believe planning should be at the forefront of all we do. We should decide and envision, as I spoke of in last week’s journal, where we want our end result to be and then take the necessary steps in order to achieve that. Those stepping stones are included in the planning process. I remember times throughout my life this principle reinforce in many ways. My mission was one of them. If we did not plan for who we taught, we felt limited and unprepared in or material and what to say. I believe this is an important step and truly it will help us to prevent poor performance throughout our lives.

In this class, it seems like we are really making a push as to the many upcoming assignments that we will participate in this semester. We brainstormed and came up with five ideas to do for our $100 Challenge. We read a Harvard Case Study on Andy Wilson and the famous Boston Duck Tours of 1996. Both assignments taught us the preparation and planning aspects of business and both were singularly important preparation assignments for our future in this class. I look forward to all that lies ahead on this journey through this class. I hope that I can continue in the wise counsel shared by my Mission President and continually make planning central to my life. We heard much counsel and wisdom shared by our leaders this weekend in General Conference. May we go forth and plan for how we will implement this counsel. I know doing these things can only help us if we want both success and happiness in this life. Remember: “Prior proper planning positively prevents poor performance.” 

Leave a Reply

